Welcome to Elbert County Georgia

  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image

As the industrial center of Northeast Georgia, Elbert County is a prosperous community boasting an economy that is rock solid – the area's granite monument production accounts for one-third of total production nationwide. In fact, Elberton, the county seat, is known as ″The Granite Capital of the World!″

About the Area

Elbert County was established in 1790 when it was divided from Wilkes County. Lying along the border with South Carolina, Elbert County is situated on 374 square miles of rolling hills, and is bound on three sides by five other counties: Hart, Lincoln, Madison, Oglethorpe, and Wilkes.

Elbert County has a population of more than 19,000 people who enjoy the various attractions for which the county is known: granite buildings, statues and monuments, colonial homes, Arrowhead Pointe Golf Course, Richard B. Russell and Clark's Hill lakes, Bobby Brown Park and, of course, the 20,000-seat Granite Bowl, home of the Elbert County Blue Devils.

Upcoming Events

  • April 25 5:00PM Planning and Zoning Public Hearing
  • May 9 5:00PM Board of Commissioners Worksession
  • May 15 5:15PM Board of Commissioners Public Hearing
  • May 15 5:30PM Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting

Please explore this website for the wealth of information you will find, including important links and documents you may need as a resident, business, or visitor to Elbert County.

If you are interested in working for Elbert County, please view our current job openings.

Need Something? Call Us!

    • Clerk of the Court


    • Elections/Voter Registration


    • County Administrator


    • Fire Department (non-emergency)


    • Solid Waste/Recycling


    • County Clerk


    • Magistrate Court


    • Tax Assessor


    • Chief Financial Officer


    • Probate Court


    • Tax Commissioner


    • Community Development & Code Enforcement


    • Road Department